22. (Edited) Go peach picking

18 Aug

True confession time: Number 22 “Navigate NYC with a word” can’t happen. I know you’re at the edge of your seat wondering how in the world I was going to actually navigate New York with a word. But that’s going to have to wait for another blog, another day. Frankly, many things conspired against me to eliminate this from my list. One being, I forgot that I was house sitting in Westchester this week, therefore making it harder to trek around the city.

“But Katie,” you might say. “You’ve had so long to do this. And you knew you were house sitting! Where were you doing with all your time?”

Folks, please notice that “Increase planning insanity” was not on the list. Therefore, I was not working on becoming even more OCD about my schedules. Maybe before I turn 27 I can attempt that.

Another thing: The weather earlier this week really stunk. I was planning on making the Metro North trip in, but the idea of sloshing around in the wet, dirty summer city didn’t sound that appealing.

So! I needed to add something I haven’t done before. And luckily, this day presented just that:

Peach picking!

I’ve been fruit picking before, oh yes I have. I consider myself quite an expert. Maybe not “drop-everything-and-work-out-in-the-fields” expert, but I’ve done my share of harvesting. Apples, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, plums, but never peaches.

So! I went!

Good ol’ Connecticut did me proud and produced such a cute orchard only an hour away. When asked if I wanted the two smaller bags or the big one, I obvi picked the big one. I contemplated getting two big ones. But then I realized that while I was crazy, maybe that was a little TOO insane. I picked 1/4 bushel of late summer apples and 1/4 bushel of peaches. The actual poundage of a bushel changes based on the produce, but for those who were wondering, it’s approximately 12 pounds of each. Each.

I have. A lot. Of fruit.

6 days until 26

Leave a Reply

