3. Sew and wear a dress

9 Aug


I haven’t always wanted to be a teacher.

Oh no, I went through a plethora of possible professions (hey there, alliteration) before landing on teaching.

I moved from my “doctor during the day, ballerina at night” idea (not realistic because what if I was performing Swan Lake and there was an emergency? bummer.) to various others, including the desire to own/operate a recording studio, and a brief stint wondering how I could be hired to be the person who finds music for TV shows. Even now, in a job that I love, I secretly want to open a bakery.

Never have I ever wanted to be a seamstress. Or a fashion designer. Ever.

I have a sewing machine that was purchased when I was in high school. I took a sewing class and produced a very boxy, unattractive dress that no one would ever wear. To this date, I’ve made a skirt, a bag, and some curtains.

When it comes to sewing, I don’t have the same perfectionist tendencies that I seem to have with everything else. When I first typed “seem” right now, I actually wrote “seam.” Pretty punny, no? Just go with it.

I get crazy frustrated when fabric doesn’t cooperate or when I have to do a lot of pinning and I can’t, CAN’T cut in a straight line. Get that? Not even close to a straight line. And usually, right before the project is done, something happens like accidentally cutting the middle of the skirt, or sewing a seam that goes way the wrong way. And that’s the end of that.

And then I ball the fabric up and shove it into a plastic bag and pout. I’ve gotten quite good at pouting at the sewing machine since I started this project.

But then! Lo! I finished my dress! I used this tutorial that I found online. I have to admit, shopping for the fabric was the best part. I got a little fabric crazy and bought enough other colors to make two more dresses. No biggie, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves here.

Dress success! I only wore it for a few hours because then the torrential rains started and my rain boots don’t really go with the style.

Please excuse the less-than-desirable quality picture, the dirty mirror, and the cluttered sink. Basically, I’m a hot mess.


14 days until 26

One Response to “3. Sew and wear a dress”

  1. Emily Strand August 13, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    Oh my goodness it’s gorgeous!!! Pretty in pink you are, Lady.

Leave a Reply

