15. Take an aerial silks class

19 Jul

The circus doesn’t really do it for me.

Given the choice between a chocolate cupcake and the circus, I’m going to choose the cupcake, and chocolate isn’t even my favorite flavor. I guess having the cupcake at the circus would be alright, but really, I’d be ok with the cupcake anywhere.

I digress.

Anyway, I’ve been to the “circus,” and it’s alright. But I don’t leave the Big Top particularly amazed and wowed.

Aerial silks is so not the circus. At least not what you think of when you imagine the circus.

Think more “Cirque du Soleil” than Ringling Brothers. Still confused? Take a peek at this video.

aerial silks video

So, this morning I traveled to Williamsburg, Brooklyn to take a class with Kiebpoli Calnek. And in a wonderfully sunlit studio, with five other woman, I cursed my lack of upper body strength for an hour.

It was hard. I was sweating. I was shaky. I’m not gonna lie.

We started out with the rope, which, obviously given the name, is different.

rope video

No, I couldn’t do cool, fancy tricks. And for most of the learning, I was about 3 feet off the ground. But I did learn how to do that inversion you see in the in first 30 seconds of the video. There were lots of mats underneath, fo sho.

I’m incredibly bruised, I’m supremely sore, and I absolutely loved being upside down. In order to let go, you really have to trust that the material will hold you. And, if you’re doing what you’re supposed to be doing, it will. Silks were more of my thang, because I felt more supported and cradled, but I’m glad I tried the rope. Climbing all the way up the ceiling made me feel tall and powerful.

Would I do it again? Definitely.

As soon as I can walk properly.

Almost-26-year-old muscles don’t bounce back like they used to, apparently.

35 days until 26

Leave a Reply

