What is “26 Before 26”?

25 Jun

The idea of “26 Before 26” actually started a year ago… but back then it was called “25 Before 25.” Basically, last July I created a list of 25 things I wanted to do before I turned 25 in late August. The list included places I wanted to visit, books I wanted to read, events I wanted to attend, and general life skills that I thought I should have before my birthday.

Most of these things were never accomplished.

There are a variety of reasons for that, I think. One being I started the list with only a month to go, leaving me not much time to do what I wanted to do. Another being that, while I knew what was on my list, no one else did. There was less “accountability,” which meant that whatever I didn’t do, I could just shrug my shoulders and move on.

I want “26 Before 26” to be different. Some of the things on the list are silly. Some will take only a few hours to do, others will take many days. But in an attempt to fill my summer, as well as discover neat things about myself and New York, I will embark on this almost-2-month journey. As I complete something on the list, I’ll post about it. Feel free to follow along!

59 days until 26

Leave a Reply

